Award of Excellence


    To recognize individuals of the State of Nebraska making outstanding contributions to the science of fisheries and aquatic resources.


  1. Significant efforts in the advancement of the fisheries profession in culture, management, research or higher education beyond routine expectations
  2. A monumental work and/or publication which contributes markedly to the basic understanding, conservation, or management of the fishery-aquatic resource
  3. Original advancements or innovations in fisheries research methodology, culture, or management techniques
  4. Significant contributions to the understanding and successful conservation management of the fisheries resource through public education and participation
  5. Imaginative and successful programs in fish conservation education at any level of teaching or graduate student guidance
  6. Important ecological discoveries or new taxonomic criteria
  7. Development of fisheries research, culture, or management programs of regional or national significance
  8. Leadership in the recognition and development of aquatic fisheries habitat issues that lead to legislation or policies that protect or enhance the resource
  9. New philosophies or ideas which significantly contribute to the understanding and management of aquatic resources

Specifications and Limitations:

  1. Award recipients must be living at the time of selection.
  2. No more than one award per year.
  3. A once in a lifetime award.
  4. Only Nebraska Chapter AFS members in good standing can make nominations. 

Past Award of Excellence Recipients

2016 – Mark A. Pegg

2015 – Don Gablehouse

2011 – Rick Stasiak

2009 – Larry Hutchinson

2005 – Edward J. Peters

1998 – Wesley Sheets

1992 – Larry Hesse

1990 – Gary L. Hergenrader

1989 – Robert E. Thomas

1988 – Bruce McCarraher

2014, 2013, 2012, 1991 – No award presented
* 2010, 2000, 1999, 1997, 1996, 1994, 1993 – No nominations were received
** 2006-2008, 2001-2004, 1995 – Incomplete/unknown award recipient information