Outstanding Fishery Student


    To recognize students of the State of Nebraska that are making outstanding contributions to the science of fisheries and aquatic resources.


  1. Notable accomplishments by the nominee should include two or more of the following:
    1. Student research which adds to the understanding, or solution, of a fisheries-related problem. Research can be basic or applied in nature, and can involve non-game or game species.
    2. Dissemination of research results in, in order of importance; a peer-reviewed publication, a thesis or dissertation, a non-refereed publication, or an oral presentation.
    3. Involvement in professional organizations, including participation in committees, organizing or moderating a technical session at a professional meeting, or serving in a peer-elected office.
    4. Academic excellence, especially including merit-based scholarships or grants.

Specifications and Limitations:

  1. Only Nebraska Chapter AFS members in good standing can make nominations. All members who have knowledge of student performance or activities are encouraged to make nominations for this award.
  2. The nominee must be a Nebraska Chapter AFS member in good standing or a member of the Nebraska Chapter AFS Student Subunit and must be enrolled in a Nebraska College or University or recently (within the last year) graduated from a Nebraska College or University.
  3. Students can be nominated at any time during their tenure for work spanning single or multiple years, but no later than 12 months after graduation.
  4. No more than one award per year. The award will not be made in any year for which no appropriate candidates are nominated.
  5. Honorable mention may be awarded, for recent graduates only, if more than one nominee is considered Outstanding by the Awards Committee members.

Award Recipients:

2017 – Nicholas Cole – University of Nebraska-Lincoln

2016 – Jonathan Spurgeon, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

2015 – B. J. Schall, University of Nebraska-Kearney

2014 – Kelly Turek, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

2013 – David Schumann, University of Nebraska-Kearney

First awarded by the Nebraska Chapter in 2013